Contributor interview: SHARON RUDAHL

This week we are posting the first round of contributor interviews, an ongoing project to highlight The Graphic Canon contributors and the motivation behind the hard (and beautiful) work they’ve done for this massive undertaking.

We are kicking off with Sharon Rudahl (author and illustrator of A Dangerous Woman), who illustrated three Tang poems: Wang Han, Cui Hu, and Li Bai, for Volume One.

Excerpt from “Drinking Alone beneath the Moon” by Li Bai, adapted by Sharon Rudahl

What inspired you to adapt the piece you did for the Graphic Canon?
After I first traveled to a rapidly transforming China in the 1990s, I began teaching myself Mandarin. It seemed a perfect language for a cartoonist—little pictures put together to form units of meaning. I translated old literature as part of my self-study. It was great to have an opportunity to illustrate my efforts.

What other projects are you working on at the moment?
I contributed 32 pages to the recently published Yiddishkeit, edited by Paul Buhle and Harvey Pekar. Paul and I are currently working on a graphic book about Bohemians, from the mid-nineteenth to the mid-twentieth century.

