Contributor Interview: Gareth Hinds

Detail from the Anglo-Saxon epic poem Beowulf, adapted by Gareth Hinds

Today’s interview is with Gareth Hinds, who will join Russ Kick, Molly Crabapple, and Sanya Glisic onstage at the Rubin Museum launch event tomorrow at 7pm. Score your tickets for the event here.

1) What inspired you to adapt the pieces you did for The Graphic Canon?

I have made a specialty of adapting classic literature because I enjoy sharing my love of the classics, and because it frees me from the problems of inventing stories and lets me focus my creativity on the visual storytelling. I generally choose which classic works to adapt based on how much I admire them (The Odyssey is my all-time favorite) and how widely they’re taught in schools (since it turns out that these adaptations are a great tool for teachers to get kids engaged with the classics, and therefore schools are a great market for my books).

2) What other projects are you working on at the moment?
I am currently finishing up my graphic adaptation of Romeo and Juliet, to be released by Candlewick Press in 2013.

