Contributor Interview: Roberta Gregory

Detail from Popul Vuh, adapted by Roberta Gregory

Detail from Popul Vuh, adapted by Roberta Gregory

Welcome back to our series of Graphic Canon contributor interviews! This week, we caught up with Popul Vuh adaptor ROBERTA GREGORY:

1) What inspired you to adapt the piece you did for the Graphic Canon?

I was inspired to adapt the Popul Vuh story because I had never heard of the work, but was instantly intrigued by it. My mother’s side of the family is from Mexico and I was happy to work on a story with a Latin American theme, and I have a good friend who has visited Mayan sites and has written a few books on the subject, and I love hearing what she has to say about it. I don’t know if I will ever get to that part of the world myself, but working on this story was like creating a visit to that location, and to that distant era. I was asked not to use the copyright Tedlock version, so I told the story in my own words, trying to keep the spirit of the original, and also adding sometimes-humorous dialogue between the gods. So that would be why people who read another translation would notice different wording in my story. It is a challenge to translate through the ages and over the vast distances!

Detail from Popul Vuh, adapted by Roberta Gregory

Detail from Popul Vuh, adapted by Roberta Gregory

2) What other projects are you working on at the moment?

I am currently working on several projects, slowly, because I have a part time ‘day job.’ I am also trying to learn to create web sites, to do digital color, and other techie skills. (The Popul Vuh story was my first major color project, and I can see I still have a lot to learn!) I am collecting people’s true cat stories for a book, True Cat Toons (truecattoons.com) and writing a four-book novel series (Mother Mountain—the first book is ready to be published) and illustrating more travel stories, such as those in my book Follow Your Art, for a future website. And yes, I am trying to work on a Bitchy Bitch graphic novel, since I love this cranky old character so much! Much of this information, and a lot of my other comics, are on my web site, robertagregory.com.

