Contributor Interview: Kate Glasheen

Today we continue our series of interviews with those who made the Graphic Canon possible. This week we have artist Kate Glasheen!

Detail from The Hill, adapted by Kate Glasheen

Detail from The Hill, adapted by Kate Glasheen

1) What inspired you to adapt the piece you did for the Graphic Canon?

Back when I was trying to decide the rest of my life as an idiot teenager, I was torn between pursuing visual arts or literature.  Serving as common ground between the two art forms, The Graphic Canon was a bit of a dream project for me. When Russ Kick approached me about participating and shared the list of available works,  I saw no one had claimed Faulkner yet. “As I Lay Dying” blew me away when I read it in high school and remains one of my favorite books to this day. It was the first extensive example I had read of stream of conscious writing as well as multiple narrators of very different styles. It was immersive in a way I hadn’t previously experienced and it was a huge influence on both my own writing style and my literary tastes and pursuits.

In my excitement I entered a fugue state and came to amidst a pile of rubble, several empty cases of Mountain Dew, and a human sized Tanooki Suit. After a brief hospital visit I replied that I wanted Faulkner.

The short I interpreted, “The Hill,” is extremely rare.  It’s one of his earliest works and Russ had to visit a university library and take pics of the pages on his phone in order to get the story to me.  This is just awesome on so many levels.  Through the Graphic Canon, and my piece specifically, a rare Faulkner short is now much more accessible to the public. It also strikes me as a great introductory piece for the rest of his work, so it may even serve as a literary gateway drug if any Graphic Canon readers haven’t yet been exposed to him.

2) What other projects are you working on at the moment?

Professionally, my work is anything from a gallery show to editorial illustration to comics. I love it all (and of course, hate it all at times). My latest book come out this past summer, entitled “Bandage: A Diary of Sorts”. It’s self published with funds raised through Kickstarter. I’m still in the throws of trying to get people aware of it through reviews, interviews, kidnappings, and whatnot. It’s an uncomfortably personal project, but I had been working on it intermittently for around a decade by the time I turned to crowd-funding, so comfort aside, I needed to get some closure for this book.

As far as upcoming work, two of note are “Young Vultures” in which I’m teaming up with long time partner in crime, Tom Pinchuk (we were the team behind Archaia Entertainment’s “Hybrid Bastards!”),  and “A Radical Shift in Gravity” with writer and good buddy, Nick Tapalansky (of existential zombie noir fame, “Awakening”).  These books are still in early– albeit thoroughly worked– stages, but believe-you-me-you-me-me-you they’re going to be something.  I’m also gearing up for a return to Graphic Canon in the upcoming children’s literature treatment.

Be sure to check out her website and blog and grab a copy of Graphic Canon Vol. III to see her awesome contribution!

