Contributor Interview: Robert Sikoryak

In continuation of our interviews with those who made the Graphic Canon possible, today we have amazing artist Robert Sikoryak. Robert took on “The Metamorphosis” by Kafka.

1) What inspired you to adapt the piece you did for the Graphic Canon?

This strip was drawn in 1990.  I had just begun working on a series of literary adaptations featuring parodies of famous comics characters, which eventually grew into my book “Masterpiece Comics” (published by Drawn & Quarterly).  The strip “Good Ol’ Gregor Brown” was inspired by my love for the works of Franz Kafka and Charles M. Schulz.  As it developed, I was very surprised to discover just how similar Gregor Samsa and Charlie Brown really are.

2) What other projects are you working on at the moment?

I’m continuing my “Masterpiece Comics” series with adaptations of Justine, Great Expectations, The Odyssey, and more, in the styles of other iconic comics and cartoons. I also lecture on the history of literary adaptations in comics, from the early 20th century to today: http://www.nyhumanities.org/speakers/adult_audiences/lecture.php?lecture_id=1095.

Be sure to check out his website and grab a copy of the Graphic Canon Vol. III to see his awesome contribution!

